When Calls the Heart by Janette Oke

When Calls the Heart (Canadian West, #1)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I will admit, I fell in love with the TV show, When Calls the Heart, before I ever knew this was a book series by Janette Oke. The books did not disappoint and I quickly read through them all in about a 2 month span.

When Calls the Heart, is a dramatic story that follows Elizabeth Thatcher, a newly appointed school teacher to the Canadian west. Elizabeth grew up in a wealthy family but when the opportunity arrives for her to teach school on the frontier, she excitedly takes the journey.

Elizabeth has a hard time fitting to frontier life but soon finds Wynn Delaney, the local mounty, coming to her rescue time after time. Neither one are looking for romance but will it find them anyway?

Recommended to fans of Anne of Green Gables, and Little House on the Prairie. Suitable for all ages but interest level of middle schoolers and up.

Buy the book here on Amazon.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment